Current Situation and Development Trend of Global 3D Printing Industry in 2018

Issuing time:2019-08-08 00:00

   

Metal 3D printing has great advantages over traditional precision machining in shortening the development and implementation cycle of new products, forming more complex structures efficiently, realizing integration, lightweight design and achieving excellent mechanical properties.

In recent years, 3D printing applications are gradually moving from prototype design to direct manufacturing.Metal 3D printing technology is also developing towards direct manufacturing of final functional parts.

Metal 3D Printing Technology is an Important Supplement to Traditional Processing and Manufacturing Technology

At present, there is still a big gap between metal 3D printing technology and traditional precision processing technology in terms of Machinable materials, processing accuracy, surface roughness and processing efficiency. However, its new technical principles and manufacturing methods have great advantages that traditional precision processing can not match, which are embodied in:

Shorten the development and implementation cycle of new products.

The forming process of 3D printing process is directly driven by three-dimensional model, which can greatly reduce the product development cycle, save the expensive cost of die production and improve the iteration speed of product development without the aid of dies, fixtures and other auxiliary tools.

More complex structures can be formed efficiently.The principle of 3D printing is to divide complex three-dimensional geometry into two-dimensional cross-section shape to laminate manufacturing, so it can realize complex component forming which is difficult to achieve in traditional precision processing, improve the yield of parts, and improve product quality at the same time.

Realize integrated and lightweight design. The application of metal 3D printing technology can optimize the structure of complex parts. On the premise of guaranteeing the performance, the complex structure is redesigned into a simple structure through transformation, which can reduce the weight. The 3D printing technology can also realize the integrated forming of components, thus improving the reliability of products.

The material utilization rate is high.Compared with traditional precision processing technology, metal 3D printing technology can save a lot of materials, especially for more expensive metal materials, which can save a lot of costs.

Achieve excellent mechanical properties. Based on the technological characteristics of rapid solidification by 3D printing, the metallurgical quality of the formed parts is uniform and compact, and there are no other metallurgical defects. At the same time, the characteristics of rapid solidification make the internal structure of the materials to be fine sub-structure, and the strength of the formed parts can be greatly improved without loss of plasticity.

Metal 3D printing technology is not to replace the traditional processing and manufacturing technology, but an important supplement to the traditional processing and manufacturing technology.

1.png



Metal 3D printing can be divided into two categories: selective melting of powder bed and directional energy deposition.

Threedimensional printing technology has existed for more than 30 years since its birth. According to the new international standard ISO/ASTM52900:2015 issued by ISO/TC261 Additive Manufacturing Technical Committee in 2015, the principle of additive manufacturing technology is divided into binder spraying (selective spraying deposition of liquid binder binder powder). Increasing material manufacturing process of other materials, directional energy deposition (using focused thermal energy to melt material, i.e. increasing material manufacturing process of melting or deposition), material extrusion (adding material manufacturing process of melting material through nozzle or hole extrusion), material spraying (adding material manufacturing process of selective spraying deposition of material in the form of micro-droplets); There are seven main types: selective melting of powder bed (by selective melting/sintering process of material addition in powder bed area), lamination of thin materials (by layer bonding to form material addition manufacturing process), stereo photo-curing (by photo-induced polymerization selective solidification of liquid photosensitive polymer material addition manufacturing process). Technology can be grouped into these seven categories.

The principle of metal 3D printing technology can be divided into two categories: selective melting of powder bed and directional energy deposition. The metal 3D printing technology based on these two principles can produce metal parts up to the standard of forgings. According to Wohlers'statistics of 36 major metal 3D printing enterprises in the world, including platinum, in 2018, 18 were using powder bed selective melting technology and 8 were using directional energy deposition technology, accounting for 72%.

2.png

The main advantages of powder bed selective melting technology are that it can print extremely complex structures (especially complex inner cavity structures) which traditional technology can not reach, and the dimensional accuracy of parts is high.

These advantages open up infinite possibilities for innovative design of metal structural parts, provide effective new technical approaches such as remarkable weight reduction, high efficiency heat transfer, accurate density and modulus matching, and open up a new direction of revolutionary progress for aerospace complex components, medical implants and conformal cooling moulds, and their mechanical properties. Over the mechanical properties of castings and even parts to meet the forging standards, so it has become the most widely used metal 3D printing technology, which is the main support technology for the rapid development of metal 3D printing output in recent years.

The main shortcomings are that the printing efficiency is slightly low, it is difficult to print large size (meter grade) parts, and the cost is relatively high because of the need for ultra-fine spherical metal powder.

The main advantages of directional energy deposition technology are: Large Print scale range, easy multi-material printing, high-power laser can be used to achieve printing efficiency of kilogram per hour, very suitable for high-performance shaping and repair, etc.

The main shortcomings are that the structure complexity of the printed parts is not high enough and there is a large processing margin. In the competition with the traditional manufacturing technology, there is no obvious irreplaceability like the powder bed selective melting technology, and the maturity of technology and automation of equipment are not as high as the powder bed selective melting technology, so the speed of popularization and application is not as fast as the powder bed selective melting technology.

3.png

Development of Metal 3D Printing towards Direct Manufacturing of Final Functional Parts

In recent years, the application field of 3D printing technology has been gradually broadened. More and more enterprises regard it as the direction of technology transformation, which is used to break through the bottleneck of research and development or to solve design problems, and to help intelligent manufacturing, green manufacturing and other new manufacturing modes.

It is worth mentioning that the application mode of 3D printing is gradually moving from prototype design to direct manufacturing. According to Wohlers'statistics on 82 service providers and 28 system manufacturers worldwide, the proportion of direct manufacturing of spare parts in their business income has increased year by year, with a compound growth rate of 23.5% in the past five years. In 2017, the output value of direct manufacturing of spare parts was US$920 million, an increase of 32.33% over the previous year.


4.png

The development of metal 3D printing technology is not isolated, it involves manufacturing technology, equipment, materials, optimization design and other aspects. Generally speaking, in order to obtain wider application, metal 3D printing technology is striving to give consideration to high performance, high precision, high efficiency, low cost, larger processing size range and wider scope. The purpose of material applicability development is to develop into direct manufacturing of final functional parts.5.png

The above data comes from the analysis report on market demand and investment potential of China's 3D printing industry from 2019 to 2024 issued by Prospective Industry Research Institute.






Share to:
Full name:
*
Mailbox:
*
Telephone:
*
Message:
*
提交留言
Online Message
3D printer
SLM-280
联系客服

联系客服

副标题

 
 
customer service telephone numbers
+86-730-8686066

2018年全球3D打印产业现状与发展趋势分析 金属3D打印向直接制造最终功能零件方向发展

发表时间:2019-08-08 00:00

   

金属3D打印在缩短新产品研发及实现周期、可高效成形更为复杂的结构、实现一体化、轻量化设计、实现优良的力学性能等方面具有统精密加工所无法比拟的巨大优势。

近年来,3D打印应用方式正逐步从原型设计走向直接制造。金属3D打印技术也在向直接制造最终功能零件方向发展。

金属3D打印技术是传统加工制造技术重要补充

目前金属3D打印技术在可加工材料、加工精度、表面粗糙度、加工效率等方面与传统的精密加工技术相比,还存在较大的差距,但是其全新的技术原理及制造方式,有着传统精密加工所无法比拟的巨大优势,具体体现在:

◆ 缩短新产品研发及实现周期。3D打印工艺成形过程由三维模型直接驱动,无需模具、夹具等辅助工具,可以极大的降低产品的研制周期,并节约昂贵的模具生产费用,提高产品研发迭代速度。

◆ 可高效成形更为复杂的结构。3D打印的原理是将复杂的三维几何体剖分为二维的截面形状来叠层制造,故可以实现传统精密加工较难实现的复杂构件成形,提高零件成品率,同时提高产品质量。

◆ 实现一体化、轻量化设计。金属3D打印技术的应用可以优化复杂零部件的结构,在保证性能的前提下,将复杂结构经变换重新设计成简单结构,从而起到减轻重量的效果,3D打印技术也可实现构件一体化成形,从而提升产品的可靠性。

◆ 材料利用率较高。与传统精密加工技术相比,金属3D打印技术可节约大量材料,特别是对较为昂贵的金属材料而言,可节约较大的成本。

◆ 实现优良的力学性能。基于3D打印快速凝固的工艺特点,成形后的制件内部冶金质量均匀致密,无其他冶金缺陷;同时快速凝固的特点,使得材料内部组织为细小亚结构,成形零件可在不损失塑性的情况下使强度得到较大提高。

金属3D打印技术并不是要取代传统加工制造技术,而是传统加工制造技术的重要补充。1.png



金属3D打印主要分为粉末床选区熔化和定向能量沉积两大类别

3D打印技术从诞生至今30余年,目前处于多技术路线共存的状态,根据国际标准化组织ISO/TC261增材制造技术委员会2015年新发布的国际标准ISO/ASTM52900:2015,将增材制造工艺原理分为粘结剂喷射(选择性喷射沉积液态粘结剂粘结粉末等材料的增材制造工艺)、定向能量沉积(利用聚焦热能熔化材料即熔即沉积的增材制造工艺)、材料挤出(将材料熔化后通过喷嘴或孔口挤出成形的增材制造工艺)、材料喷射(将材料以微滴的形式选择性喷射沉积的增材制造工艺)、粉末床选区熔化(通过热能选择性地熔化/烧结粉末床区域的增材制造工艺)、薄材叠层(将薄层材料逐层粘结以形成实物的增材制造工艺)、立体光固化(通过光致聚合作用选择性地固化液态光敏聚合物的增材制造工艺)七类,主流的技术都可以归入这七类。

金属3D打印工艺原理主要分为粉末床选区熔化和定向能量沉积两大类别,采用这两类工艺原理的金属3D打印技术都可以制造达到锻件标准的金属零件。根据Wohlers对包括铂力特在内的全球36家主要的金属3D打印企业统计,2018年度,采用粉末床选区熔化技术为18家,采用定向能量沉积技术为8家,合计占比达到72%。

2.png

粉末床选区熔化技术的主要优点是:可以打印传统技术无法企及的极端复杂的结构(特别是复杂内腔结构)、制件尺寸精度高。

这些优点开辟了金属结构件创新设计的无限可能性,提供了显著减重、高效换热、精确的密度和模量匹配等有效的新技术途径,为航空航天复杂构件、医疗植入体和随形冷却模具等开启了革命性进步的新方向,其零件力学性能超过铸件甚至部分零部件力学性能指标达到锻件标准,从而成为当今最广泛应用的金属3D打印技术,是近些年金属3D打印产值超高速发展的主要支撑技术。

其主要不足是打印效率稍低、难于打印大尺寸(米级)零件、需要超细球形金属粉从而成本相对较高等。

定向能量沉积技术的主要优点是:很大的打印尺度范围、方便多材料打印、可以采用大功率激光器实现每小时公斤级的打印效率、非常适合于高性能成形与修复等。

其主要不足是打印件的结构复杂性不够高、有较大的加工余量等。由于在同传统制造技术的竞争中还未形成像粉末床选区熔化技术那样显著的不可替代性,技术成熟度与设备自动化程度尚不如粉末床选区熔化技术高,因此推广应用的速度尚不及粉末床选区熔化技术。

3.png

金属3D打印向直接制造最终功能零件方向发展

近年来,3D打印技术的应用领域逐步拓宽,越来越多的企业将其作为技术转型方向,用于突破研发瓶颈或解决设计难题,助力智能制造、绿色制造等新型制造模式。

值得一提的是,3D打印应用方式正逐步从原型设计走向直接制造。据Wohlers对全球82家服务提供商和28家系统制造商统计数据显示,零部件直接制造占其营业收入的比例逐年提升,近五年复合增长率为23.5%。2017年,零部件直接制造的产值为9.2亿美元,同比增长32.33%。

4.png

金属3D打印技术的发展并不是孤立的,其涉及制造工艺、设备、材料、优化设计等各个方面,总的来说,为获得更为广泛的应用,金属3D打印技术都在努力向兼顾高性能、高精度、高效率、低成本、更大的加工尺寸范围和更广泛的材料适用性方向发展,其目的都是为了向直接制造最终功能零件发展。

5.png

以上数据来源于前瞻产业研究院发布的《2019-2024年中国3D打印产业市场需求与投资潜力分析报告》。





分享到:
姓名:
*
邮箱:
*
电话:
*
留言:
*
验证码
 换一张
*
提交留言
在线留言
3D打印机
SLM-280
联系客服

联系客服

副标题

 
 
热线电话
0730-2991099